Skip to main content

5 Facts about Daylight Saving Time

By March 4, 2019September 13th, 2021Insurance

little boy rubbing his eyes in bed with a clock next to him

This weekend, Daylight Saving Time begins at 2 a.m. Sunday. Although we’re losing an hour (and an hour of sleep), we have the promise of Spring ahead. Just think warmer weather and longer periods of daylight. Here are five fun facts about Daylight Saving Time:


  1. Daylight Saving Time began in Canada in 1908, however, the first countries to use Daylight Saving Time were Germany and Austria in 1916. The United States began participating in Daylight Saving Time in 1918.
  2. Daylight Saving Time is not observed in Hawaii and most of Arizona. U.S. territories of Guam, Puerto Rico, Virgin Islands and American Samoa also don’t observe Daylight Saving Time.
  3. Daylight Saving Time begins and ends at 2 a.m. rather than midnight because there is a higher chance that most people are sleeping.
  4. The U.S. Department of Transportation is in charge of time in the U.S., including time zones and daylight saving time.
  5. Barbeque, golf and candy industries cash in. When Daylight Saving Time was extended from six to seven months in 1986, the golf and barbeque industry brought in an extra $200 million and $100 million respectively for the extra month of daylight. The candy industry cashed in, too, figuring an extra hour of daylight would mean more trick-or-treaters on Halloween.

This year, Daylight Saving Time will end on November 3, when you’ll get your hour of sleep back. Until then, enjoy the extra hour of daylight and remember to have an extra cup of coffee ready Sunday morning.

This article was brought to you by our friends at Erie Insurance. Miller’s would like to extend its gratitude to Erie Insurance for both being a wonderful business ally and for letting us use the articles found on their blog, Eriesense.


Skip to content